Please Wait a Moment
09 Oct 2015

List of Parties to the UNCISG

The following is a list of parties to the UNCISG\r
The United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG; the Vienna Convention)is a treaty that is a uniform international sales law. As of September 2014, it has been ratified by 83 countries that account for a significant proportion of world trade, making it one of the most successful international uniform laws. Guyana was the most recent state to ratify the Convention, having acceded to it on 25 September 2014.\r
The CISG was developed by the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL), and was signed in Vienna in 1980. The CISG is sometimes referred to as the Vienna Convention (but is not to be confused with other treaties signed in Vienna). It came into force as a multilateral treaty on 1 January 1988, after being ratified by 11 countries.\r
Notes \r
(a) This State declared, in accordance with articles 12 and 96 of the Convention, that any provision of article 11, article 29 or Part II of the Convention that allowed a contract of sale or its modification or termination by agreement or any offer, acceptance or other indication of intention to be made in any form other than in writing, would not apply where any party had his place of business in its territory.\r
(b) This State declared that it would not be bound by paragraph 1 (b) of article 1.\r
(c) Upon accession, Canada declared that, in accordance with article 93 of the Convention, the Convention would extend to Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island and the Northwest Territories. In a declaration received on 9 April 1992, Canada extended the application of the Convention to Quebec and Saskatchewan. In a notification received on 29 June 1992, Canada extended the application of the Convention to the Yukon Territory. In a notification received on 18 June 2003, Canada extended the application of the Convention to the Territory of Nunavut.

This resource is only available to our paid members. You can Join Us or Sign in to get access to this resource.